ABOUT ME

MY STORY

I was born in Durban, South Africa, during apartheid. As you can imagine, it was a difficult time. I grew up in a family-run supermarket business catering to the local industrial community. I was responsible for unloading goods from vehicles, packing the shelves, and serving customers. Business hours were long and the work was heavily physically manual labour. My understanding of money during these early years was that it was scarce, and required hard physical work. 

I set off to try and break out of the mold that had been cast for me. During many various business ventures, I started a sales and marketing agency which was initially a success. However, as the market changed, I needed to adapt quickly as with a newborn son, I needed to provide a sustainable living for my family. I took on more responsibilities to try and cover the losses from the business by selling life insurance. This proved unsuccessful as I diluted my time for little reward. The clients were difficult and the additional focus that was required could not be provided because I was stretched too thin. 

I then moved onto a personal consultant role with a bank, providing personal loans to the disadvantaged population at the time. This was highly successful, with a substantial increase in income, and I found an exciting and rewarding way of making money. Those were my most profitable years, interacting with a variety of people with varying backgrounds. However, the lending business model was unsustainable and the bank subsequently went into administration. As you may appreciate, the road was bumpy.

But for every loss I made, whether it was money, or time, or motivation, I gained wisdom. Expertise in understanding how to manage my finances; how to prioritise what needed to be paid, and when; how to invest what I had available into a new business; and, maintaining effective relationships with the right people I found that I had to do many different things to keep my family financially afloat. What was most important was the will to progress my situation and that of my family. When the opportunity arose for us to move to the UK, I saw it as yet another opportunity to progress and face new challenges.

We moved to the UK in 2002. With a huge burden of debt on me, I was willing to work in any job. I engaged as a night supervisor initially and then as a Service Quality Supervisor for Stagecoach London. My situation improved and we purchased our first home in the UK within two years. I was also constantly reading, attending workshops, and seminars to learn what others were doing to be successful. I was mindful that I did not have a pension and looked for a way to rescue that. I attended several property training courses and started investing in property. I quickly learned that investing in the right property provided cashflow that accumulated over time, fuelling a positive cycle. 

After 12 years, the company I worked for faced redundancies. I voluntarily accepted and left, and it was at this point that I made the decision to build income through investing and establish myself as a business. I am not a genius, nor a guru, but I have learned and experienced a lot during my earlier business years. It has taken a lot of time, money, and learning to be where I am today, and—although the journey has been enlightening—I don’t want you to make any of the mistakes I made along the way. I have been able to transform my understanding of money, and support my family to not just live, but thrive, in the UK. My wife (and now Dr) Aarthi, has achieved her doctorate, written four books, and is a well-published expert in her field of radiography. My eldest son Kailash obtained a First Class Masters degree in Biochemistry from the University of Oxford, whilst my youngest son Hemang is studying Physics with Astrophysics at Manchester University and is also starting his own online tutoring business for GCSE and A-Level students. I am extremely proud of my family and want to continue to support them to achieve their dreams. I’ve found the way, it works for me; and it can work for you too.

LOLLY RAMLAUL

QUALIFICATIONS & EXPERIENCE

Having travelled extensively, and started my family in South Africa, moving to the UK in 2002, I have experience of business across a range of locations and vertical markets. I am particularly proud of the way my family has flourished in the UK. My failed ventures instilled in me a quest to find out how this money game works- how to take responsibility and control of my financial future. I have delved into the world of alternative investments that are making me money now. I created a roadmap of my Plan A and Plan B passive investment strategies – I can show you how as well through what I am investing in. 

Education

  • Bachelor of Administration (Public Finance) Degree- University of KwaZulu Natal
  • Certificate in Personal Computing- Cybercomm Computer College
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Business Administration- Open University
  • MSc Business Psychology- University of Westminister.

Experience

  • Banking
  • Running Businesses
  • Investing in non-regulated investments
  • Understanding and connecting people
  • Working Internationally
  • Due diligence on projects
  • Working knowledge of contracts

Recognition

  • Progressively building a multi-million £ portfolio consisting of diversified assets
  • My wife Dr. Aarthi has written 4 books and is well-published in her field of Radiography
  • My eldest son Kailash obtained a 1st in Biochemistry from Oxford University
  • My youngest son Hemang is studying Astro Physics at Manchester University
  • Hemang is also starting his own online tutoring business in Maths and Physics for GCSE and A-Level students